Chairman's Welcome


It is with great pleasure that I am addressing you as the 2020 Agfest Chairman for the 38th year of our amazing event. 

As you are aware, due to COVID-19, we made the heart-breaking decision to cancel Agfest 2020. However, following a much-appreciated grant from the Tasmanian Government, Rural Youth has moved Agfest 2020 from the paddock to the Cloud.

With over one million page views during the cloud event our highly valued exhibitors, sponsors, contractors and suppliers are ecstatic with the response they received and were grateful to Rural Youth for having the initiative  produce this field day platform to promote their companies, products, services and Agfest deals to the world and help stimulate the economy. 

So, why do I give up my time to be a Rural Youth Member and an Agfest volunteer?

 I first joined Rural Youth way back in 2011 when a family member brought me along to North Motton’s monthly meeting and from there I never looked back. I became club Treasurer in 2012 and also attended my first Agfest. I volunteered in the car park across a wet three days and soon worked out that Agfest was just one big happy family.  I knew then that I wanted to further my knowledge of Agfest and Quercus to one day strive to be Chairman.

Eight years on and countless positions held between Agfest and Rural Youth here I am having the honour of leading such an event! But I couldn’t do it alone so I would like to take the time to introduce the Leadership Team:

  • State President- Jake Williams 
  • Vice Chairman- Bree Bisset 
  • Operations Manager- Matthew Wadley 
  • Exhibitor Manager- Rhys Mills 
  • Media & Promotions Manager- Dylan Bellchambers 
  • Safety and Compliance Manager- Jacqui Hodgkinson 
  • Security Manager- Owen Woolley 
  • Features Manager- Ashley Evans 
  • Rural Youth Member- Caitlin Radford 

Our annual three-day field day attract more than 700 exciting and diverse exhibits and 63,000 patrons. We will continue to build on our foundations of being agricultural based and supporting Tasmanian businesses. 

Agfest is very much so on the map here in Tassie and I would love for us to be the most widely known tourist attraction in Tasmania. The team will strive to attract more interstate and international patrons to show what the Tasmanian agricultural sector has to offer.

We urge you to support our event with a difference this year and we look forward to seeing you back in the paddock for Agfest 2021.

Stay safe and well.


Ethan Williams - Agfest Chairman 2020